1

Your cart is empty.

My Cart (0) My Cart (0) Check Out
en
  • en
  • fr
MARK JOHNSEN

MARK JOHNSEN

Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
The Last Polaroids
2010
Polaroid

These images were composed by manipulating an Sx-70 instant Polaroid camera. By tricking the camera to turn off completely while leaving the shutter open, Johnsen was able to make exposures lasting upwards of 6 hours in almost complete darkness in municipal parks surrounding the San Francisco Bay Area.

Using the last Polaroid film produced in 2007 and set to expire in 2009, the resulting photographs were created in part by reciprocity failure, condensation, and the surrounding interference from mercury vapor street lamps. These factors, in combination with the duration of their exposure causes their other worldly appearance.

These prolonged-instant photographs appear like miniature sets that help to highlight the artificial nature of these human-made spaces.

———

Mark Johnsen is an American visual artist living and working in Vancouver, British Columbia. His print-based practice examines the possibilities of the unique, hand-pulled impression in an era of digital reproduction. Through studies of material exploration, traditional and non-traditional printing techniques: he works to capture gestural and representational time stamps.

Mark is the co-founder of Patio Press, a virtual printmaking residency run alongside artist Sara-Jeanne Bourget.

He has exhibited throughout The United States, Canada, The United Kingdom, Turkey, Bosnia, Japan, Switzerland, and New Zealand. He is currently a sessional faculty member at Emily Carr University of Art + Design.

Art works are framed. Framed size = 13.5” X 13.5” each

SHIPPING: contact us for details and shipping options


1,100.00 $

1

Votre panier est vide.

Mon panier (0) Mon panier (0) Commander
fr
  • en
  • fr
MARK JOHNSEN

MARK JOHNSEN

Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, Canada
The Last Polaroids
2010
Polaroid

Ces images ont été réalisées en manipulant un appareil photo instantané Polaroid SX-70. En trompant l'appareil pour qu'il s'éteigne complètement, tout en laissant l'obturateur ouvert, Johnsen a pu réaliser des expositions de plus de six heures dans l'obscurité presque totale, dans des parcs municipaux entourant le secteur de la baie, à San Francisco.

Utilisant la dernière pellicule de ce type produite par Polaroid en 2007, et qui expirait en 2009, les clichés qui en résultent sont le fruit de la défaillance de réciprocité, la condensation, et les interférences environnantes des lampadaires à vapeur de mercure. Ces facteurs, combinés à la durée de l’exposition, sont à l'origine de leur apparence digne d'un autre monde.

Ces photographies « prolongées-instantanées » apparaissent comme des décors miniatures qui contribuent à mettre en évidence la nature artificielle de ces espaces créés par l'homme.

———

Mark Johnsen est un artiste visuel américain, qui vit et travaille à Vancouver. Sa pratique de l’art de la gravure examine les possibilités de l'impression unique, tirée à la main, à l'ère de la reproduction numérique. Par le biais d'études sur l'exploration des matériaux, et de techniques d'impression traditionnelles et non traditionnelles, il s'efforce de capturer des marqueurs de temps gestuels et figuratifs.

Mark est cofondateur de Patio Press, une résidence virtuelle de création de gravures, crée avec l'artiste Sara-Jeanne Bourget.

Il a exposé aux États-Unis, au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en Turquie, en Bosnie, au Japon, en Suisse et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il est actuellement membre du corps enseignant de l'Université d'art et de design Emily Carr, à Vancouver.

Les œuvres sont encadrées. Format encadré = 13.5” X 13.5” chaque

LIVRAISON: contactez-nous pour les détails et possibilités de livraison

 


 

1,100.00 $